Return to Headlines

Area school districts hand out annual awards Area schools gathered at Skagit Golf & Country Club on Friday afternoon for the annual Washington Association of School Administrators Region 108 awards ceremony.

LA CONNER SCHOOL DISTRICT ~ Taylor Rae Cayou received a Student Leadership Award for her work as a student representative on the La Conner School Board, where she raised important issues from the student body.


Soroptimist International of La Conner earned a Community Leadership Award for its support of students. For example, for several of its book fairs, the group has donated funds allowing every student to buy a book. They also provide thousands of dollars in scholarships to La Conner High School seniors and school alumni who are in college.


Each school district was able to pick award winners in two categories — Community Leadership and Student Leadership.

Community Leadership awards go to community members or groups that have made outstanding contributions to education.


Student Leadership Awards recognize student leaders who have created or played a significant leadership role in their schools.

The awards were presented by incoming Northwest Educational Service District 189 Superintendent Ismael Vivanco.