• 2024 board directors.jpg

    The La Conner School Board of Directors and the superintendent are constantly assessing the community's needs and aspirations to develop an educational program that is consistent with the District's resources. We encourage community members to communicate their ideas to the Board directors and the superintendent.

    Specific duties of the local Board of Directors include:

    • Employing a school superintendent, principals, teachers, and other personnel.
    • Establishing appropriate courses of study equal to or greater than required by the State Board of Education.
    • Adopting a school budget.
    • Determining local levies.
    • Assessing teaching materials.
    • Establishing local policies.

    The Board of Directors selects the Superintendent of schools to serve as its chief executive officer. It is the responsibility of the superintendent to recommend the appointment of all other personnel to the Board and to bring recommendations to the Board for action in carrying on the work of the District.

    Regular meetings of the Board are held at 5:00 pm on the fourth Monday of each month, except if the 4th Monday falls on a holiday or during a school break, the regular board meeting may be rescheduled to a different date. The meetings are held in the Board of Directors room in the District Office building. Meeting agendas are available in the superintendent's office two days before each regular meeting and can be found by clicking on the Agenda page.

    All regular and special board meetings are open to the public. All actions authorized or required by law are taken at open meetings. The Board may, however, meet in executive (closed) sessions to discuss dealing with personnel, property considerations, employee negotiations, or possible litigation.

    Constituents of the La Conner School District who plan to comment on agenda items at board meetings are encouraged to contact the superintendent in advance. By using this process, the Board can be prepared to answer specific questions and have any requested information available.


    School Board Members: 
    Email: School Board Directors 

    Alana Quintasket


         Director Alana Quintasket 
         District 1


         Serving since December 2023
         Term expires 2027

    John Agen


         Director John Agen     
         District 2


         Serving since December 2019
         Term expires 2027

    Jeremy Wilbur

           Vice President Jeremy Wilbur
           District 3

           360-941-2709 (c)

            Serving since August 2020
            4-year term expires 2025

    Kim Pedroza

     Kim Pedroza
            District 4


            Oath of Office March 27, 2023
            Term expires 2027

    Susie Deyo

            President Susie Deyo
            District 5

    360-421-3700 (c)

            Serving since March 2019
            4-year term expires 2025

    Taylor Rae Cayou 2022.jpeg

            Student Representative

            Taylor Rae Cayou ~ Class of 2024

            2-Year Term ends in June 2024

    Josi Straathof


    Student Representative
    Josi Straathof ~ Class of 2024

    The 1-year term ends in June 2024

    Will Nelson


    Superintendent Will Makoyiisaaminaa (Nelson), EdD
    Secretary to the Board


            Serving since July 2021


Last Modified on April 10, 2024